LIFE AND WORKS OF CHARLOTTE BRONTĖ AND HER SISTERS. Comprising Jane Eyre; Shirley; Villette; The Professor; Poems; Wuthering Heights; Agnes Grey; The Tennant of Wildfell Hall; in addition to Elizabeth Gaskell's The Life of Charlotte Bronte.

Seven volumes. Octavo. Handsomely bound in contemporary half black calf over marbled paper. Five raised bands and gilt titles on two red labels, gilt decorative borders and rose motifs to the spines of each volume. Marbled text block edges and endpapers. Volumes 1 to 6 are illustrated with a frontispiece, engraved title page and three further plates after drawings by E. M. Wimperis. Volume 7 has six plates by various artists including a frontispiece portrait of Jane Austen. All volumes are in very good condition, the bindings square and firm, with the paper sections of the boards being a little rubbed to the board edges, and the spines slightly faded. Volume one has a small patch of paper scuffed to the rear pastedown, volume three has a very tiny scuff to the upper board, and volume five the same to the lower board. The contents are entirely complete, clean throughout and without previous owner's inscriptions or stamps.

A very attractive illustrated edition of the Brontė sisters' complete works, beautifully presented in uniform contemporary bindings.

Stock code: 18475


Do you have a book like this to sell?
Read the Sell Books to Lucius page for more information on how to sell to us.


London: Smith, Elder, & Co.


Children's / Illustrated
Gift Ideas
Recent Acquisitions
Sell your books to us Log in / Register