THE NOVELS OF JANE AUSTEN: Sense and Sensibility; Pride and Prejudice; Mansfield Park; Emma; Northanger Abbey; Persuasion.

Ten volumes. Publisher's original green cloth with gilt titles to the upper board and spine. Volume I with a frontispiece portrait of Jane Austen by Johann Zoffany and three illustrations to each of the ten volumes by William Cubitt Cooke. An excellent better than very good set, the bindings clean and firm with just light bumping at the spine tips. With a presentation inscription to the endpaper of the first, and the recipient's name to the front pastedown of each volume. Other than the occasional isolated foxing spot the contents are clean and bright throughout.

The text is based on the last edited edition published in the author's lifetime. The illustrations here by William Cubitt Cooke (1866-1951) are the first attempt at period-appropriate representation, with Regency dress and furnishings. A very attractive and uniform set of mixed editions published between 1895 and 1897. (Gilson E75).

Stock code: 20371


Do you have a book like this to sell?
Read the Sell Books to Lucius page for more information on how to sell to us.


Children's / Illustrated
Gift Ideas
Recent Acquisitions
Sell your books to us Log in / Register